Executive Director’s Perspective: Dog Days of Summer – By Joseph A. Martinez


We thank outgoing TCDLA President Sam Basset (Austin) for his service to the TCDLA membership over the last year. We wish him well and good verdicts.

John Convery (San Antonio) took the helm of TCDLA as president in June at the 45th Annual TCDLA Annual Meeting. We look forward to a most productive year under John’s leadership.

We thank outgoing chair of the Criminal Defense Lawyers Project (CDLP) Jani Maselli Wood (Houston) for her outstanding dedication and tireless efforts over the past year. We wish her well and good verdicts. John Hunter Smith (Sherman) is the new chairman. CDLP oversees the grants TCDLA receives from the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals. Heather Barbieri (Denton) is the co-chair.

We thank David Guinn (Lubbock) for his leadership as chair of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Educational Institute (TCDLEI). Lance Evans (Fort Worth) is the new chair of TCDLEI.

Congratulations to the new TCDLA Hall of Fame inductees, Shirley Baccus-Lobel (Dallas), Ed Mallett (Houston), and Bill Habern (Houston). They are truly examples of lawyers who have served the legal profession with honor and distinction and contributed to the improvement of criminal jurisprudence in Texas.

Congratulations to Jani Maselli Wood (Houston), named TCDLA Charles Butts Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year, and Brian Wice (Houston) and Richard Gladden (Denton), named the Percy Foreman Lawyers of the Year.

Special thanks to our course directors for this year’s 29th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course held in San Antonio in June. They were Heather Barbieri (Plano), Jo Ann Jacinto (El Paso), Jim Darnell (El Paso), Kameron Johnson (Austin), and Mark Stevens (San Antonio). Thanks to their efforts over the last year and their outstanding lineup of speakers, we had 810 attendees. Special thanks also to the members who donated items for the silent auction held during Rusty Duncan. Thanks to speaker Robin Conley (Huntington, West Virginia), who spoke at our Capital Luncheon in San Antonio.

Please make plans to join us at next year’s 30th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course. Please note the change: The course will be held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk. Next year’s course directors will be Cynthia Orr (San Antonio), Audrey Moorehead (Dallas), Robert Lerma (Brownsville), and Frank Sellers (Lubbock).

Special thanks to our course directors, Deandra Grant (Dallas) and Mark Thiessen (Houston), for our 3rd Annual Lone Star DWI seminar held in Austin in July. Thanks to their efforts we had 170 attendees.

Special thanks to our course directors for our Training the Trainers CLE held in South Padre Island in July. Thanks to their efforts we had 69 attendees. We require all of our CDLP speakers for the coming year to attend this training.

Special thanks to our course directors for our Upholding Justice One Client at a Time CLE held on South Padre Island in July. Thanks to their efforts we had 83 attendees.

We held a TCDLA/CDLP/TCDLEI Board Orientation at South Padre Island. We had 30 board/committee members attend.

We have a great lineup of DWI CLE in the coming months. Please join us for these quality TCDLA DWI seminars.

Sept. 16Houston14th Annual Top Gun DWI
Danny Easterling & Grant Scheiner
Nov. 3–4San Antonio12th Annual Stuart Kinard Memorial Advanced DWI Seminar
Adam Kobs, Michael Gross & Bobby Barrera

TCDLA currently has 3,106 members. It is the largest criminal defense lawyers association in the country. We ask our members to encourage other lawyers who practice criminal de­fense to join TCDLA.

Weren’t able to attend this year’s Rusty Duncan event? You can order the DVD and get CLE credit. Please go to our website for more information and to order. Do you need CLE credit and can’t attend our seminar training? Please call the Home Office (512-478-2514) for a list of the DVDs and accompanying CLE credit.

Don’t have a local criminal defense bar in your area? Would you like to re-energize and jump-start your organization? Are you interested in forming a local criminal defense bar? Need help getting organized? Please contact Susan Anderson (Dallas), , Laurie Key Lubbock), , or Carmen Roe (Houston), , co-chairs of the TCDLA Affiliate Committee.

Good verdicts to all.

Joseph A. Martinez
Joseph A. Martinez
Joseph A. Martinez is the former long-time Executive Director of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association.
Previous Story

Editor’s Comment: Back 2 School – By Sarah Roland

Next Story

President’s Message: Numero Tres – By John A. Convery

Latest from Columns