Executive Director’s Perspective: By the Numbers – By Joseph A. Martinez

Special thanks to John Convery (San Antonio) and Henry Bemporad (San Antonio), our course directors for the Federal Law seminar held in New Orleans in March. Thanks to their efforts we had an outstanding lineup of speakers.

The TCDLA Board met in New Orleans on March 10. The following motions passed at the board meeting:

  • MOTION: TCLDA Membership Directory
    Keep the format and process the same as current year for the 2012–2013 TCDLA Membership Directory
  • MOTION: Change 401(k) retirement plan for TCDLA staff by Lowering Age Coverage to 18 Years
  • MOTION: Approve Hall of Fame 2012 Recipients Charles McDonald and Roland Dahlin II
  • By Acclimation, Troy McKinney as Lawyer of the Year for 2012
  • MOTION: Approve John Raley as a TCDLA Honorary Member

The Board wants to inform members about the SBOT Texas Lawyers Assistance Program (TLAP). The Board recognizes we need to help each other. We need to be supportive of our sisters and brothers who may need our help. TLAP is a confidential 24 hour-a-day service. Please go to the SBOT or TCDLA websites for more information.

Through six months of the 2012 fiscal year, here are several performance items:

Number of Seminars held:
TCDLA         6
CDLP           18
Number of Lawyers Trained:
TCDLA         574
CDLP           1,939
TCDLA Membership:
Current members      3,201
New members             167
Dropped members    266
TCDLA website hits   1,340,000
Voice Online hits       400,000

Very special thanks to Lydia Clay-Jackson (Conroe), Dean of Students, and Tim Evans (Fort Worth), Dean of Faculty, for the 36th Annual Texas Criminal Trial College held in Huntsville. We also thank the 37 faculty for participating in this year’s college. We had 79 students from all across Texas. We have a list of the faculty and graduates from this year’s college on page 21. Please join us in congratulating these lawyers.

Special thanks to the National College for DUI Defense (NCDD) and their Dean, Mr. George A. Stein, for allowing TCDLA to co-sponsor the Mastering Scientific Evidence in DUI/DWI Cases seminar held in New Orleans. Special thanks to Troy McKinney (Houston), who also serves as Assistant Dean of NCDD, Gary Trichter (Bandera), and Mimi Coffey (Fort Worth), course directors for this year’s seminar. Special thanks to Rhea Kirk, Executive Director. Thanks to all of their efforts, we had 180 attendees from all across the USA.

This year marks the seventh year of this unique working relationship between NCDD and TCDLA. We recognize Troy McKinney, Assistant Dean of NCDD and past TCDLA board member, who conceived the idea and became its champion.

Special thanks to the San Antonio Bar and their President, Gary Hutton, for allowing Criminal Defense Lawyers Project (CDLP) to co-sponsor the 49th Annual AA Semaan Seminar. Special thanks to their Executive Director, Jimmy Allison. John Convery (San Antonio) was course director. This event was the first CLE for criminal law in the state.

The Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Educational Institute (TCDLEI) Board has approved funds for this year’s 25th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course. TCDLA thanks TCDLEI for its support.

Are you interested in forming a local criminal defense bar? Need help getting organized? Please contact Bobby Mims, Chair of the TCDLA Affiliate Committee ().

Please save the date to join us at the 25th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course, June 7–9, 2012. Our course directors will be Troy McKinney, Stephanie Stevens, and Doug Murphy, with our associate course directors Sharon Curtis, Sarah Roland, and Marjorie Bachman. The theme will be “Ridin’ for Justice—Celebrating 25 Years,” a cowboy theme. A fun run and bike ride will be part of the healthy lifestyle options that will be available.

Good verdicts to all.

Previous Story

Editor’s Comment: Why I Think the Death Penalty Will Die – By Greg Westfall

Next Story

President’s Message: Roy Benavidez: An Inspiring American Hero—A Reminder for the Defense Lawyer to have Faith, Determination, and a Positive Attitude – By J. Gary Trichter

Latest from Uncategorized

Shout Outs

Kudos to the dynamic duo of John Hunter Smith and Thomas Wynne of Sherman for

Shout Outs

Kudos to Gerry Goldstein and Cynthia Orr, two of our storied ex-presidents, for their big