Executive Director’s Perspective: A Rusty Recap – By Joseph A. Martinez


A very special thanks to our course directors, Bob Hinton (Dallas), Lance Evans (Fort Worth), and Grant Scheiner (Houston) for this year’s 24th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course held in San Antonio June 9–11. These three lawyers have spent many hours over the last year preparing for this year’s major production. Thanks to their dedication and effort, we had 805 attendees. Thanks to our 32 speakers who spoke at this year’s event.

Thanks to Harold Danford and Clay Steadman, our golf tournament directors. Thanks to the TCDLA board members who helped “meet and greet and direct” attendees. Thanks to Gerry and Christine Goldstein for opening their beautiful King William home to 600-plus people and hosting the 24th Annual Pachanga Party. Thanks to all the TCDLA staff who worked steadfast on this event, especially Melissa Schank, our Assistant Executive Director. Special thanks to our TCDLA members who attended the 24th annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course. You are the reason this event is so special—and the largest criminal defense CLE.

Congratulation to all the award winners at Rusty Duncan: Hall of Fame inductees Charles Butts (San Antonio) and R. F. “Buck” Files (Tyler), president-elect of the State Bar of Texas; Lawyer of Year Award recipients Katherine Scardino (Houston), Vivian King (Houston), and Shirley Baccus-Lobel (Dallas); and the new Charles Butts Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year Award recipients Tim Evans (Fort Worth) and David A. Pearson (Fort Worth).

Special appreciation to Sue Benner for her design for the 40-year celebration. TCDLA sold 100-plus T-shirts and over 30 prints. You can still order a print today—call the TCDLA office.

Please save the date to join us at the 25th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course, June 7–9, 2012. Our course directors will be Troy McKinney, Stephanie Stevens, and Doug Murphy, with our associate course directors Sharon Curtis, Sarah Roland, and Marjorie Bachman.

The following actions were taken at the TCDLA Board Meeting on Friday, June 10, 2011:

  • There was discussion regarding the proposed changes to the TCDLA bylaws. A majority by show of hands chose to have a paper ballot. The proposed changes were split into 11 sections. All of the proposed changes were defeated.
  • Motion was made by Mark Daniels, seconded by Clay Conrad, to let the TCDLA membership know of the vote count for each section. Motion carried.
  • Motion made by Craig Jett, seconded by Carole Powell, to send an order form to TCLDA members informing members that the 2011–2012 TCDLA Membership Directory will be sent to them by CD at no cost. The directory will be available online at the TCDLA website. The spiral-bound printed directory will be available at a cost of $20. Members must order no later than 8/1/11 to receive their copy the first week of September 2011.

The following actions were taken at the Annual Membership Meeting held on Saturday, June 11, 2011:

  • Bill Harris proposed an amendment accepted by Gary Trichter to amend the proposed bylaw as follows:


    Sec. 2. Executive Committee. The Executive Committee shall consist of the officers of the Association, the editor of the Voice for the Defense, two members of the board of directors, and the two past presidents appointed by the President. Motion made by Bill Harris and seconded by Kelly Pace. Motion failed on a 78–54 vote.

  • A motion was made by Gary Trichter, seconded by Terrance Russell, to table the remaining proposed bylaws for the Bylaws Committee to review. The motion carried on an 81–41 vote.
  • Motion made by Stan Schneider, seconded by Ron Goranson, to approve the Nominating Committee slate of officers for 2011–2012. Motion carried.
  • Motion made by Bob Hinton and seconded by Nicole DeBorde to approve the Nominating Committee slate of new and reappointed board members, motion carried.
  • Grant Scheiner announced TCDLA has a new free Droid app for TCDLA members for accessing the criminal codes. Please go to the TCDLA website for more information.

Please join us for a summer of fun and CLE.

July 14–15South Padre Island, Trial Tactics: The Art of War

Aug. 10Houston, NHTSA SFST Overview

Aug. 11–12Houston, 9th Annual Top Gun DWI, co-sponsored with Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association

Aug. 11–12Austin, “Innocence Work” in the Real World for Real Lawyers: A Practical Seminar on Representing the Innocent After Conviction

Aug. 18Sugar Land, Trial Tactics: The Art of War

Aug. 25Austin, Innocence Lost: How & Why Investigations Go Wrong

Aug. 26Corpus Christi, Trial Tactics: The Art of War

Good verdicts to all.

Joseph A. Martinez
Joseph A. Martinez
Joseph A. Martinez is the former long-time Executive Director of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association.
Previous Story

Editor’s Comment: Why I Do What I Do (A Work in Progress) – By Greg Westfall

Next Story

President’s Message: Our Roles in the System – By William Harris

Latest from Columns